

Cornell University University Assembly

U.A. Resolution # 23

Recognition of Outstanding Support for the Campus Judicial System During the AY 2018 Legislative Session

May 8, 2018

1	Sponsored by: Matthew Battaglia, Graduate & Professional; Chair, Codes & Judicial
2	Committee
3	
4	<u>On Behalf Of:</u>
5	The University Assembly Codes and Judicial Committee: K. Ashford, D. Barbaria, R.
6	Bensel, J. Kruser, R. Lieberwitz, V. Price, C. Riley, E. Winarto, K. Zoner
7	
8 9	Whereas, it takes considerable time, effort and dedication to ensure the functioning of the Cornell's Campus Judicial System each year; and
10	
11	Whereas, the University Assembly (the Assembly) and its Codes and Judicial Committee (the
12	Committee) are extremely grateful for the dedication, time, and service of those involved
13	in the Campus Judicial System and its associated groups and committees; and
14	
15	Whereas, those involved in the Campus Judicial System are often not publicly recognized for
16	their contributions and service; therefore
17	
18	Be it resolved, the Assembly formally recognizes the following people for their service during
19	the 2017 – 2018 Academic Year:
20	Ma Michalle Howath Indiaial Administrator for her Annual Hadata of Student
21	Ms. Michelle Horvath , Judicial Administrator, for her Annual Update of Student
22 23	Disciplinary Trends and recent initiatives in the Office of the Judicial Administrator to the Committee and Assembly;
23 24	the Committee and Assembly,
24	Ms. Christina Liang, Associate Judicial Administrator, and Mr. Vincent Ciampolillo,
26	Associate Judicial Administrator, for their service in the Office of the Judicial
27	Administrator and contributions to improving Cornell's Campus Judicial System;
28	rammstator and contributions to improving comen's campas varietar system,
29	Ms. Janey Bosch, Office Manager, and Mr. Steven Morey, Administrative Assistant,
30	their continued support addressing the logistics of ensuring the Campus Judicial System
31	runs smoothly;
32	



Cornell University University Assembly

33	Ms. Kendall Karr, Judicial Codes Counselor, for her excellent work advocating on
34	behalf of respondents in Cornell's various Judicial Processes and work to improve the
35	Code alongside the Committee and Assembly;
36	
37	Mr. Ryan Parker, Associate Judicial Codes Counselor, Mr. Mark Carper, Assistant
38	Judicial Codes Counselor, and Mr. Douglas Wagner, Assistant Judicial Codes Councilor
39	for their dedicated and excellent work advocating on behalf of respondents in Cornell's
40	various Judicial Processes;
41	
42	Professor Risa Lieberwitz, Chair of the Codes & Judicial Committee's Working Group
43	on Hate Speech and Harassment, Mr. Travis Cabbell, Mr. Aaron El Sabrout, Mr.
44	Scott Grantz, Ms. Victoria Price, Mr. Carlton Riley, and Professor Suman Seth,
45	Voting Members of the Codes & Judicial Committee's Working Group on Hate Speech
46	and Harassment, for both their dedication to addressing exceptionally important matters
47	facing our campus and their extensive work to engage the greater Cornell Community in
48	these discussions;
49	,
50	Professor Timothy DeVoogd, Hearing Board Chair, Professor Clare Fewtrell, Hearing
51	Board Chair, Professor Thomas Overton , Hearing Board Chair, Professor Rocco
52	Scanza, Hearing Board Chair, and Professor Andrea Mooney, Review Board Chair, for
53	their work presiding over hearings, supporting the judicial process, and working with the
54	Committee to discuss ways to improve the hearing board procedures;
55	committee to discuss ways to improve the nearing board procedules,
56	Mr. Joel Cisne, Administrative Chair, for his work the support the administrative
57	functions of the Boards, assistance in communicating with Board members, and working
58	with the Committee to discuss ways to improve the hearing board procedures;
50 59	with the committee to discuss ways to improve the nearing board procedures,
60	Christopher Arce, Rosa Cortez, Jason Gallant, Leor Ginzburg, Samuel Gutekunst,
61	Patrick Hartigan, Ali Jenkins, Nicholas Longman, Milam Milhouse, John Ready,
62	Bianca Viscusi , and Yunyun Wang , Student Members of the Boards with terms ending
63	in 2018 for their years of service on the boards and dedication to supporting Cornell's
64	Judicial Process;
65	
66	Amanda Cort, Nick Henault, Emma Kioko, Zoe Kohl, Sage Magee, Justin Minion,
67	Carrie Montgomery, Levi Orenstein-Wolf, Morgan Palmiter, Ziva Posner, Andrew
68	Rosenblatt, Olivia St Amand, and Vivian Vazquez, Student Members of the Boards
69	with terms ending in 2019 for service to date on the boards and dedication to supporting
70	Cornell's Judicial Process;
70	
71	Natasha Aumick, Brigid Beachler, Michelle Hubbell, and Jami Joyner, Staff
72	Members of the Boards with terms ending in 2018 for their years of service on the boards
73 74	and dedication to supporting Cornell's Judicial Process;
/ 4	and dedication to supporting Corner 5 Judicial Flotess,



Cornell University University Assembly

75	
76	Amy Beckhorn, Kristin Blake, Kimerly Cornish, Sara Hernandez, Delia Herrin,
77	Monica Ingram, Beth VanDine, and Tracey Thompson, Staff Members of the Boards
78	with terms ending in 2019 for service to date on the boards and dedication to supporting
79	Cornell's Judicial Process;
80	
81	Lynden Archer, Susanne Bruyere, Angela Cornell, Alex Flecker, Robin Gleed,
82	James Lloyd, and Jeffrey Graham Scott, Faculty Members of the Boards with terms
83	ending in 2018 for their years of service on the boards and dedication to supporting
84	Cornell's Judicial Process;
85	
86	N-Dri Assie-Lumumba, Tracy Carrick, Michelle Cox, David Lee, Kelly King-
87	O'Brien, Vilma Santiago-Irizzary, Makda Weatherspoon, and Michelle Whelan,
88	Faculty Members of the Boards with terms ending in 2019 for service to date on the
89	boards and dedication to supporting Cornell's Judicial Process;
90	
91	Be it further Resolved, that the Assembly requests this Resolution of Recognition be forwarded
92	to the appropriate Deans, Vice Presidents, and Vice Provosts so that all these individuals
93	can be properly recognized for their outstanding support of the Campus Judicial System.
94	
	No signature block is present until the resolution has been disposed of by the Assembly

No signature block is present until the resolution has been disposed of by the Assembly (Passed, Failed, Withdrawn, etc.) Then a block with the certifying member (customarily Chair/Vice-Chair) verifying the authenticity and vote tally of the resolution.