

1

2

Resolution 1: Establishing the IT Shared Governance Committee

3 4	Abstract: This resolution establishes the IT Shared Governance Committee of the University Assembly.
5	Sponsored by: Nicholas Maggard (SA Parliamentarian), Patrick Kuehl (SA President)
6 7	Whereas, there currently exists no representation from the shared governance system within the Cornell IT department, which affects the daily lives of every constituency.
8 9 10	Whereas, the Chief Information Officer, Ben Maddox, in collaboration with the Student Assembly Parliamentarian, has expressed desire for constituency-wide representation within the IT Governance structure of Cornell IT.
11 12	Whereas, the IT Shared Governance Committee will represent the interests of every constituency within the IT Governance process.
13 14 15	Whereas, for the initial term of shared governance representation, Cornell IT has expressed that members be installed this term and last through the end of the Assembly's next term while the IT Shared Governance process is being initiated.
16 17	Be it therefore resolved, the following text be inserted as Article V, Section 5.4 of the University Assembly Bylaws:
18	Section 5.4: IT Shared Governance Committee
19 20 21	The IT Shared Governance Committee shall be responsible for ensuring representation from all constituencies of the university within the IT Governance framework of Cornell IT.
22	Subsection 5.4.1: Responsibilities
23 24 25 26 27 28	The Committee's charge is to appoint members of each constituency from the committee's membership to the IT Governance groups in which the Cornell IT department has invited participation. The standing appointments to IT Governance groups shall be approved by both the Committee and the Assembly. Special appointments shall be made at the discretion of the Committee Chair or the UA Chair, in consultation with the Committee.
29	Subsection 5.4.2: Composition



30 31	The Committee's composition shall consist of two to four undergraduate students, two to four graduate/professional students, two to four employees, and two to four
32	faculty members. The Assembly shall additionally select two to four members.
33 34	The yearly composition shall be dependent on the number of seats allocated to each constituency by Cornell IT.
35 36	Be it further resolved, the following text be inserted as Appendix A of the Student Assembly Bylaws:
37	Section A.1: Special Term
38	Members of the IT Shared Governance Committee appointed during the 2023-2024 Term
39	of the University Assembly shall be retained for the 2024-2025 Term of the University
40	Assembly.
41	Section A.2: Authority of the Chair
42	The Committee Chair shall be empowered to nominate individuals to the Committee,
43	subject to the approval of the Assembly. Following the conclusion of the 2023-2024
44	term, and before the beginning of the 2024-2025 academic year, nominations shall be
45	approved by the UA Chair.
46	Section A.3: Sunset Clause
47	This appendix in its entirety will be repealed at the conclusion of the 2024-2025 Term of
48	the University Assembly, or until otherwise acted upon by the same.
49 50	Be it finally resolved, immediately following the adoption of this resolution, the University Assembly shall elect a Chair of the IT Shared Governance Committee.
51	Respectfully Submitted,
52 53	Nicholas Maggard Parliamentarian of the Student Assembly
54 55	Patrick Kuehl President of the Student Assembly