

Rafael Bitanga

## **UA Resolution 11:**

## Emergency Appointment of University Hearing Board and University Review Board Members for Academic Year 2020-2021

[February 16, 2021]

1	Sponsored by: University Assembly Executive Committee; Brandon Fortenberry, Employee	
2	Assembly Representative	
3		
4	Whereas, on September 4, 2020 the former Executive Committee of the University Assembly	
5	(2020) acted on an emergency basis to confirm appointments of student and faculty members to the	
6	University Hearing and University Review Boards (UHRB) from the applications received; and	
7		
8	Whereas, students were selected by the former Executive Committee from a pool recommended by	
9	Uchenna Chukwukere (SA) and Prof. Caroline Levine (FS), consistent with the emergency	
10 11	appointment provisions in the Campus Code of Conduct; and	
12	Whereas, the Code allows the Executive Board of the assembly to make emergency appointments	
13	only on a temporary basis, these student members were confirmed only through January 31, 2021;	
14	and	
15	and	
16	Whereas, the process for appointing faculty to the pool is different than for students or employees	
17	in that the Dean of the Faculty makes nominations which are then confirmed by the full UA; and	
18		
19	Whereas, the Code allows the Executive Board of the assembly to make emergency appointments	
20	only on a temporary basis, these faculty members were confirmed only through May 31, 2021; and	
21		
22	Be it therefore Resolved, the following faculty members were appointed to the UHRB for a one-	
23	year term ending on May 31, 2021:	
24	Susanne Bruyere	
25	Angela Cornell	
26	Laurie Drinkwater	
27	Alex Flecker	
28	James Lloyd	
29	Elizabeth Karns	
30	David Yearsley	
31		
32	Be it further Resolved, the following students are formally now appointed to the UHRB for a term	
33	ending on May 31, 2021:	
34	Terence Burke	
35	Grace Hageman	
36	Lassan Bagayoko	
37	Ashley Acosta	
38	Collin Montag	
39	Rafael Bitanga	

40	Avery Williams
41	Maria Silaban
42	Jessica Jiang
43	Jalen Wise
44	Mardiya Shardow
45	Rebecca Harrison
46	Kaitlyn Bonnet
47	•

**Be it finally Resolved**, the Codes and Judicial Committee of the University Assembly is asked to consider extending the appointment periods of the aforementioned members of the faculty and student body beyond May 31, 2021 or to ask for additional candidates or partake in an official review process. Should vacancies occur during the term of these appointments, the Codes and Judicial Committee will work with the Office of the Judicial Administrator and the Office of the Assemblies to fill those vacancies as quickly as possible.