

U.A. Resolution #1

Appointment of University Hearing Board and University Review Board Members for Academic Year 2018-2019

September 4, 2018

1	Sponsored by: Dale Barbaria, Undergraduate; Chair, Codes & Judicial Committee
2 3	On Behalf Of: The 2017 – 2018 UA Codes & Judicial Committee (K. Ashford, D. Barbaria
4	M. Battaglia, R. Bensel, J. Kruser, R. Lieberwitz, V. Price, D. Putnam, E. Winarto, C.
5	Riley, K. Zoner)
6	
7	Whereas, the 2017 – 2018 Codes and Judicial Committee (CJC) received and reviewed
8 9	applications for service on the University Hearing and University Review Boards (UHRB) from students and employees and made recommendations on appointments; and
10	students and employees and made recommendations on appointments, and
11	Whereas, due to procedural delays in that process, the nominees were recommended in timely
12	fashion but were not ultimately appointed to the UHRB in the Academic Year 2017-2018; and
13	
14	Whereas, the executive committee of the University Assembly authorized the appointment of
15	individuals on a temporary basis to the UHRB until such time as the full Assembly could
16	confirm them; and
17	
18	Whereas, due to such procedural delays, the UHRB would be left at approximately half-strengt
19	without confirmation of the individuals timely nominated in the Academic Year 2017-2018; and
20	NN/I
21 22	Whereas , the students and staff temporarily appointed were formally vetted and recommended by the Codes and Judicial Committee during the 2017 – 2018 academic year; and
23	
24	Whereas, the faculty members temporarily appointed were formally nominated for service by
2526	the Dean of the University Faculty; and
27	Whereas, the Dean of the University Faculty nominated additional faculty members for service
28	on the UHRB over the Assembly's summer recess; and
29	
30	Whereas, all individuals appointed to serve on the University Hearing and Review Boards mus
31	be confirmed by the University Assembly; therefore
32	



33 Be it Resolved, the following student members are appointed to the UHRB for a two-year term 34 beginning retroactively from June 1, 2018 lasting until May 31, 2020 or their graduation from 35 the University, whichever is sooner: 36 37 Christopher Arce 38 Keenan Ashbrook¹ 39 Lauren Elaine Fairman 40 Emma Li¹ Sean McCoy¹ 41 42 Milam Milhouse 43 Michael Redmond Daly 44 Varun Rohatgi 45 John Sullivan Baker 46 Alice Nam 47 48 **Resolved**, the following staff members are appointed to the UHRB for a two-year term 49 beginning retroactively from June 1, 2018 lasting until May 31, 2020 or their separation from the 50 University, whichever is sooner: 51 52 Natasha Aumick 53 Brigid Beachler 54 Joel Cisne 55 Eric Michael Giese¹ 56 Michelle Hubbell 57 Jami Joyner 58 59 **Resolved**, the following faculty members are appointed to the UHRB for a two-year term 60 beginning retroactively from June 1, 2018 lasting until May 31, 2020 or their separation from the 61 University, whichever is sooner: 62 Celia Bigoness² 63 Susanne Bruvere 64 65 Angela Cornell Laurie Drinkwater² 66 67 Alex Flecker

¹ Individual not previously given an emergency appointment.

68

69

70

Robin Gleed

James Lloyd

Jeffrey Graham Scott

² Nominated by the Dean of the University Faculty during the Summer of 2018, not previously given an emergency appointment.



No signature block is present until the resolution has been disposed of by the Assembly (Passed, Failed, Withdrawn, etc.) Then a block with the certifying member (customarily Chair/Vice-Chair) verifying the authenticity and vote tally of the resolution.