

U.A. Resolution # 6

Recognition of Outstanding Support to the AY 2019 Legislative Session

May 7, 2019

1	Sponsored by: Matthew Battaglia, Graduate & Professional; Chair, University Assembly
2 3	On Behalf Of:
4	The Entire University Assembly: I. Allen, J. Anderson, D. Barbaria, K. Barth, M.
5	Battaglia, R. Bensel, L. Copman, V. Devatha, D. Geisler, M. Hatch, D. Hiner, R. Howarth,
6	L. Kenney, E. Loew, T. Onabajo, J. Pea, C. Van Loan, A. Viswanathan, C. Wiggers, E.
7	Winarto
8	VV III LO
9	Whereas, it takes considerable time, effort and dedication to support the important work of the
10	University Assembly (the Assembly) each legislative session; and
11	
12	Whereas, the Assembly is extremely grateful for the numerous university officials and
13	presenters that testify before it or its Standing Committees each year to ensure the
14	Assembly gets the information it needs; therefore
15	
16	Be it resolved, the Assembly formally recognizes the following people for their exceptional
17	support:
18	
19	Dr. Kent Bullis , Executive Director of Cornell Health, for his presentation on university
20	health trends, current Cornell Health initiatives, and Cornell Health's ongoing expansion
21	of services;
22	
23	Mr. Rick Burgess, Vice President for Facilities and Campus Services, for his
24	presentation on the University's sustainability initiatives and the North Campus
25	Residential Expansion;
26	Dr. Charles Walcott and Dr. Linda Fallyson, from the University Ourhydamen's Office
2728	Dr. Charles Walcott and Dr. Linda Falkson , from the University Ombudsman's Office for their Annual Update on the Ombudsman's Office as well as their continuous,
29	exceptional service to the entire university community;
30	exceptional service to the entire university community,
31	Dr. Mary Beth Grant, Senior Associate Dean of Students, for her update on the Greek
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
32	Judicial Reform initiatives and discussion with the Assembly concerning the Greek



33	system and Campus Code of Conduct;
34	
35	Mr. Ryan Parker, Judicial Codes Counselor, and Ms. Gabrielle Kanter, Associate
36	Judicial Codes Counselor, for their presentation to the Assembly and thoughtful analysis
37	of the issues facing Cornell's disciplinary system, suggestions of areas of that could be
38	targeted for improvement, and work to advocate and create a fairer judicial system at
39	Cornell;
40	
41	Chief David Honan and Lieutenant Anthony Bellamy, Cornell University Police, for
42	their Annual Update on Cornell Security Trends and Clery Act Statistics as well as
43	Former Chief Kathy Zoner for her exemplary support of and service to Shared
44	Governance and the Cornell Community over many years;
45	
46	Ms. Mary Opperman, Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer, for her
47	presentation concerning the creation of a Core Value Statement for Cornell as well her
48	presentation and engagement regarding revisions to University Policy 6.4 as its
49	procedures apply to faculty and staff;
50	
51	Mr. Joel Malina, Vice President for University Relations, for his support of the
52	University Assembly this academic year and his assistance in facilitating a discussion
53	concerning the creation of a Core Value Statement;
54	
55	Mr. John Siliciano, Deputy Provost, for his presentation to the Assembly and
56	engagement regarding revisions to University Policy 6.4 as its procedures apply to
57	faculty and staff;
58	
59	Ms. Michelle Horvath, Judicial Administrator, for her Annual Update on Student
60	Disciplinary Trends;
61	
62	Mr. Ted Schiele, Tompkins County Health Department, and Ms. Leslie Meyerhoff,
63	Director of Assessment and Planning for Student and Campus Life, for their presentation
64	and discussion with the Assembly and its Campus Welfare Committee concerning the
65	Assembly's campus-wide tobacco survey;
66	
67	Mr. Dale Barbaria, Chair of the Assembly's Codes and Judicial Committee (CJC) and
68	CJC Members, Kasey Ashford, Richard Bensel, Andrew Brooks, Dietrich Geisler,
69	Khaddy Kebbeh, Logan Kenney, Risa Lieberwitz, Ashwin Viswanathan, and
70	Shashank Vura, for their collective work reviewing and selecting candidates to serve on
71	the University's Hearing and Review Boards as well as their extensive deliberations and
72	work regarding updates to the Campus Code of Conduct;
73	
74	Professor Robert Howarth, Chair of the Assembly's Campus Infrastructure Committee



75	(CIC) and the David R. Atkinson Professor of Ecology and Environmental Biology and
76	CIC Members Kristopher Barth, Nina Blahut, Terrance Caroll, Caroline Levine,
77	Ellie Month, and Max Zhang for their collective work addressing issues of
78	infrastructure and sustainability;
79	
80	Ms. Tireniolu Onabajo, Chair of the Assembly's Campus Welfare Committee (CWC),
81	and CWC Members Dietrich Geisler, David Hiner, Akanksha Jain, Jeff Pea, Bruce
82	Roebal, Emma Roszkowski, and Charles Van Loan for their collective work
83	examining the adequacy of Cornell's childcare facilities, the Assembly's campus-wide
84	tobacco survey, and improving the campus environment writ-large;
85	
86	Mr. Joeseph Anderson, Professor Robert Howarth, and Ms. Linda Copman, for their
87	service on the Assembly's Executive Committee, helping to manage the logistics of
88	running the Assembly and coordinate its strategic direction;
89	
90	Ms. Imani Allen, Mr. Dale Barbaria, Professor Richard Bensel, and Mr. Ryan
91	Parker for their service to the Assembly and Cornell Community on the Judicial
92	Administrator Search Committee;
93	
94	Professor Martin Hatch and Mr. Kristopher Barth for their service and work as the
95	Assembly's liaisons to the Campus Planning Committee;
96	
97	Ms. Ekarina Winarto, for her service and work as the Assembly's liaison to the Policy
98	Advisory Group and Council for Sexual Violence Prevention as well as her service on the
99	Student Health Benefits Advisory Committee;
100	
101	Ms. Pamela Hampton, former coordinator for the Office of the Assemblies, for her
102	tremendous guidance, exceptional support, and outstanding assistance to the Assembly
103	and Shared Governance at Cornell;
104	
105	Mr. Terrill Malone and Ms. Margaret Lee, Clerks of the Assembly, for their service,
106	dedication, and support to the Assembly during the AY 2019 session and contribution to
107	the Assembly's public recordkeeping;
108	
109	The Office of the Assemblies (Ms. Gina Giambattista and Ms. Sara DeVault-
110	Feldman) for their logistical support during the session;
111	
112	Be it further Resolved, that the Assembly requests this Resolution of Recognition be forwarded
113	to the appropriate Deans, Vice Presidents and Vice Provosts so that all these individuals
114	can be properly recognized for their outstanding support of the University Assembly; and
115	
116	Be it finally Resolved, that the Members of the Assembly also extend their sincerest gratitude to



117 **President Martha E. Pollack** for her support of shared governance as well as her 118 involvement with, interest in and consideration of our numerous proposals and 119 Resolutions. Thank you.

Adopted by Vote of the Assembly (17-0-0), May 7, 2019,

Matthew Battaglia

Matthew Battaglio

Chair, University Assembly